Minutes of Zoning Commission

April 28, 2009

The regular meeting of the Bainbridge Township Zoning Commission was called to order by Mr. Donald Sheehy, Chairman at 7:06 P.M. Members present were: Mr. Steve Hunder, Mr. Ken Watson and Mr. Stephen Yingling.

MINUTES

Mr. Yingling made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 31, 2009 meeting as written.

Mr. Hunder seconded the motion that passed unanimously.

NEW BUSINESS

Zoning Commission Resignation

The zoning commission acknowledged the resignation of Mr. Scott Raypholtz.

General Discussion

Mr. Michael Joyce, Zoning Inspector met with the zoning commission and the following topics were discussed: proposed planner, signage regulations, densities for property with waterlines and sewer lines, the need to be proactive with the zoning regulations, windmills, the overall zoning resolution and the Ohio Township Association.

The zoning commission members were in agreement to start reviewing Chapter 173 regarding signage with regards to recent variance requests before the Board of Zoning Appeals.

- Mr. Yingling made a motion to recess the regular meeting.
- Mr. Hunder seconded the motion that passed unanimously.

The regular meeting was recessed at 8:28 P.M.

PUBLIC HEARING

Proposed Zoning Amendment Z-2009-1

Mr. Sheehy called the public hearing to order at 8:29 P.M. Members present were: Mr. Steve Hunder, Mr. Ken Watson and Mr. Stephen Yingling.

Proposed amendment Z-2009-1 is a motion by the zoning commission to amend Chapter 101 – Purpose and Conflict.

Mr. Sheehy explained the proposed amendment that will correct Chapter 101.01 -Title of the zoning resolution and add the words "general welfare" to Chapter 101.02 – Declaration of Purpose.

Mr. Sheehy noted that the Geauga County Planning Commission had cancelled its regular meeting on March 10, 2009 but held it on April 14, 2009 therefore the planning commission's formal recommendation was not available for the last public hearing held on March 31, 2009 therefore it was continued to this date.

Mr. Sheehy read into the record the recommendation of the Geauga County Planning Commission in a letter dated April 15, 2009 in which the planning commission recommended approval of Z-2009-1.

Mr. Sheehy solicited comments for the proposed amendment: None.

Mr. Sheehy solicited comments against the proposed amendment: None.

Mr. Sheehy made a motion to close the public hearing.

Mr. Yingling seconded the motion.

Vote: Mr. Hunder, aye; Mr. Sheehy, aye; Mr. Watson, aye; Mr. Yingling, aye.

The regular meeting was reconvened at 8:31 P.M.

Proposed Zoning Amendment Z-2009-1

Mr. Hunder made a motion to recommend approval of Proposed Zoning Amendment Z-2009-1 as written.

Mr. Sheehy seconded the motion.

Vote: Mr. Hunder, aye; Mr. Sheehy, aye; Mr. Watson, aye; Mr. Yingling, aye.

Proposed Zoning Amendment Z-2009-1 will be forwarded to the Bainbridge Township Board of Trustees for review.

Zoning Commission Members

The zoning commission discussed future new and alternate members.

OLD BUSINESS

Riparian Setbacks

The zoning commission discussed the Riparian Setbacks and Phase II stormwater regulations.

CORRESPONDENCE

- 1. Zoning Inspector's Report, dated March 1, 2009 March 31, 2009.
- 2. Bainbridge Township Board of Zoning Appeals Meeting Minutes, dated March 19, 2009.
- 3. Bainbridge Township Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes, dated March 2, 2009.
- 4. Memo from the Geauga County Planning Commission, dated April 7, 2009. RE: County Planning Commission Meeting.
- 5. Copy of memo from the Geauga County Planning Commission to Mr. Jerry Petersen, dated April 15, 2009. RE: Stoneridge of Geauga Subdivision Phase 2 Final Plat.
- 6. Letter from Mr. Scott Raypholtz, dated April 16, 2009. RE: Resignation from Zoning Commission.

Since there was no further business to come before this meeting of the Bainbridge Township Zoning Commission, Mr. Yingling made a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Sheehy seconded the motion that passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 8:59 P.M.

| Respectfully submitted, |
|-------------------------------------|
| Linda L. Zimmerman Zoning Secretary |
| Donald Shooky Chairman |
| Donald Sheehy, Chairman |

Date Approved: May 26, 2009