Minutes of Zoning Commission

January 30, 2018

The regular meeting of the Bainbridge Township Zoning Commission was called to order by Mr. Lateulere, Chairman at 7:02 P.M. Members present were: Mr. Chuck Giallanza, Alternate; Mr. Howard Miller, Alternate; Ms. Marlene Walkush; Mr. Andrew White and Mr. Dennis Williams. Mr. Brent Classen was absent. Ms. Karen Endres, Zoning Inspector was present.

The Zoning Commission acknowledged newly appointed member, Mr. Dennis Williams.

Secretary's note: The December 26, 2017 meeting was cancelled.

<u>MINUTES</u>

Mr. Miller moved to adopt the minutes of the November 28, 2017 meeting as written.

Mr. White seconded the motion that passed unanimously.

NEW BUSINESS

Organizational Session

Sunshine Law

Mr. White made a motion to adopt and support the Sunshine Law as provided in the O.R.C.

Mr. Miller seconded the motion.

Vote: Mr. Lateulere, aye; Mr. Miller, alternate, aye; Ms. Walkush, aye; Mr. White, aye; Mr. Williams, aye.

Secretary

Ms. Walkush made a motion to reappoint Linda Zimmerman as secretary for the Zoning Commission.

Mr. Williams seconded the motion.

Vote: Mr. Lateulere, aye; Mr. Miller, alternate, aye; Ms. Walkush, aye; Mr. White, aye; Mr. Williams, aye.

Meeting Schedule

Mr. White made a motion to hold the regular meetings on the last Tuesday of each month at 7:00 P.M. at the Town Hall.

Ms. Walkush seconded the motion.

Vote: Mr. Lateulere, aye; Mr. Miller, alternate, aye; Ms. Walkush, aye; Mr. White, aye; Mr. Williams, aye.

Acceptance of Proposed Amendments

The Zoning Commission was in general agreement to retain the policy of accepting any proposed amendment applications on the last meeting night of each month. (Generally to be the last Tuesday of the month.)

Election of Officers

Chairman

Mr. White made a motion to elect Mr. Lateulere as Chairman.

Mr. Miller seconded the motion.

Vote: Mr. Lateulere, abstain; Mr. Miller, alternate, aye; Ms. Walkush, aye; Mr. White, aye; Mr. Williams, aye.

Vice Chairman

Mr. Miller made a motion to elect Mr. White as Vice Chairman.

Mr. Williams seconded the motion.

Vote: Mr. Lateulere, aye; Mr. Miller, alternate, aye; Ms. Walkush, aye; Mr. White, abstain; Mr. Williams, aye.

Groundwater Monitoring Committee

Mr. Lateulere reported that he will be serving on the Groundwater Monitoring Committee for Geauga County.

OLD BUSINESS

Development Standards - Cluster Subdivisions (Lot Coverage)

The Zoning Commission discussed lot coverage calculations for cluster subdivisions and if the Lake Lucerne Subdivision should have its own zoning district.

Mr. Williams will work with Ms. Endres on the cluster subdivision lot coverage calculations.

Mixed Use Planned Unit Development District – Site Plan Review (Sherwin Williams)

Ms. Endres reported that representatives for Sherwin Williams will be seeking variances at the next Board of Zoning Appeals meeting to be held February 15, 2018. Mr. Williams stated that he will be attending that meeting.

<u>Ohio HB 175 – Agriculture</u>

Mr. Lateulere reported that HB 175, if passed, will remove the ability to restrict small agriculture based on lot size.

Geauga Soil & Water Conservation District

The Zoning Commission discussed information received from the Geauga Soil & Water Conservation District regarding Geauga County Water Management and Sediment Control Regulations that was recently amended. The Zoning Commission was in agreement to not amend the 300 sq. ft. regulation for soil disturbance in the zoning resolution.

CORRESPONDENCE

- 1. Memo from David C. Dietrich, Geauga County Planning Director, dated January 9, 2018. RE: Geauga County Planning Commission Meeting Dates for 2018.
- Memo from David C. Dietrich, Geauga County Planning Director, dated January 25, 2018. RE: Canyon Lake Colony Subdivision No. 13-c (Replat of Sublots 314-317)

 Final Plat.
- 3. Bainbridge Township Board of Zoning Appeals Meeting Minutes, dated November 16, 2017.
- 4. Bainbridge Township Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes, dated November 13, 2017; November 27, 2017; December 11, 2017; December 26, 2017.

Since there was no further business to come before this meeting of the Bainbridge Township Zoning Commission, Mr. White made a motion to adjourn.

Mr. Miller seconded the motion that passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 9:11 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Linda L. Zimmerman Zoning Secretary

John Lateulere, Chairman

Date Approved: February 27, 2018